Posted on

cbd oil georgia

Royal CBD – Full Spectrum

Marijuana became legal for medical purposes in 2015, when HB1, also known as Haleigh’s Hope Act, was signed by Governor Nathan Deal. The acts grant access to medical marijuana for patients suffering from one of eight conditions (seizures, Crohn’s disease, ALS, multiple sclerosis, Parkinson’s Disease, mitochondrial disease, sickle cell disease, and cancer) and who possess a state-issued medical marijuana card.

Buying CBD oil in Georgia is quite easy, as Georgia’s CBD market is expanding rapidly, becoming one of the best places in the country to purchase CBD. Although marijuana CBD oil was legalized only for medical purposes and the state allows certain patients to use a high-CBD and low-THC (up to 5%) marijuana products, hemp-derived Cannabidiol is perfectly legal, and better yet, it does not require you to have any form of permission to buy it.

Where to Buy CBD Oil Locally in Georgia?

But what is the exact legal status of CBD oil in Georgia? Let’s answer some questions.

Update: We no longer recommend purchasing CBD oil locally due to due to recent findings of low-quality oils sold on store shelves.

To learn more and where we recommend buying pure CBD oil, please read our guide on buying CBD near you.

A good CBD provider should:

Pharmacies will initially sell cannabis oil, and private dispensaries can apply for a license to distribute low THC oil to patients. Dispensaries are expected to open in 2020.

Applicants must undergo a criminal background check performed by local law enforcement. Those with convictions related to controlled substances are not eligible to apply for licenses. Applicants must be qualified with agricultural experience. Annual licensing fees cost $50 per acre, with a maximum fee of $5,000.00.

CBD products are legal in Georgia, with the exception of CBD in foods, beverages, animal feed, or dietary supplements. The Georgia Hemp Farming Act, HB 213, which passed in May 2019, formally legalized the commerce of CBD products that conform with federal law requirements and contain 0.3% THC or less.

Image lightbox

Most raw cannabis strains on the market today contain small amounts of CBD, especially compared with THC. But since the cannabinoid has gained considerable attention for its wide range of purported therapeutic benefits, more high-CBD strains have recently been cultivated.

All types of cannabis, including hemp strains that don’t produce enough THC to cause intoxication, were considered illegal under the Federal Controlled Substances Act of 1970. The law categorized all cannabis as Schedule 1, which defined the plant as a highly addictive substance with a high potential for abuse and no accepted medical use.

The 2018 Farm Bill re-classified hemp as an agricultural commodity and made its cultivation federally legal. Further, the act removed some forms of cannabis from Schedule 1 status by creating a legal distinction between hemp and marijuana. Hemp is cannabis with less than 0.3% THC, and marijuana refers to cannabis with more than 0.3% THC. This distinction in federal law effectively legalized CBD that is derived from cannabis with less than 0.3% THC, as long as it has been cultivated according to federal and state regulations.

Georgians can now legally purchase CBD products containing no more than 0.3% THC by dry weight. Photo by: Gina Coleman/Weedmaps

If you lose your card, please contact the State Office of Vital Records at 404-679-4702 option 4. If your card has not expired, your physician will be contacted to confirm you are still under their care. Once confirmed, a replacement card will be provided to you. Please plan to allow 15 business days to process your information, print your card and have it ready for pick-up at your closest Public Health Office. Replacement cards will cost $25.

What conditions or diseases are covered by the law?

The fee for a Low THC Registry Card is $25 per new card, which is the standard fee used by the Office of Vital Records. You will be asked to pay for your card when you pick it up from the closest of the 20 Public Health Offices approved to distribute them.

Is marijuana now legal? Where can I buy it?

The application is actually sent in by the physician who is treating the patient. There are two forms. First, there is a waiver form which must be signed by both the applicant and the physician. Second, there is a physician

Georgia’s medical marijuana law allows certain qualified persons to legally possess up to 20 fluid ounces of “low THC oil,” which is derived from the marijuana plant. It authorizes the Georgia Department of Public Health to issue a “Low THC Oil Registry Card” to qualified persons, which will prove that they are authorized to have the oil and protect them from arrest.

What happens if I lose my card?