3. Double-check the THC content. For the time being, only industrial hemp CBD products are available to those without a medical marijuana license. However, if your CBD contains more than 0.3% THC, it’ll be treated the same as marijuana and could lead to fines and jail time.
Currently, 21 medical conditions are approved for medical marijuana use in Ohio.
Where to Buy CBD in Ohio
A 90-day supply can mean different things, depending on the type of material.
CBD made using a flowering marijuana plant will contain higher levels of THC, which means that it will get you stoned. To purchase this type of CBD, you’ll need a medical marijuana card as it can only be bought from a state-licensed dispensary.
Ohio is one of the better places to be in the midwest if you use marijuana.
In July 2019, Ohio passed SB 57, decriminalizing hemp and setting up a regulatory framework to license hemp cultivation. Ohio was one of many states that has regulated industrial hemp production as a crop following the passage of the 2018 Farm Bill.
The 1970 Federal Controlled Substances Act categorized all types of cannabis, including hemp, as Schedule I, defined as a substance with a high potential for abuse, no accepted medical use, and a likelihood for addiction. The act prevented further research that may have shed light on beneficial uses for cannabis.
To meet federal legal criteria, CBD oil must contain no more than 0.3 percent THC. Photo by: Gina Coleman/Weedmaps
Ohio CBD laws
Broad-spectrum means that the product contains CBD and terpenes, but has undergone additional processes to strip out THC.
While major drugstore chains currently sell hemp-derived CBD products in some states, Ohio is not yet one of them. Smaller, local pharmacies and health food stores may offer it. More locations will likely begin to carry CBD products as the state works out its licensing process.
One of the most important things to pay attention to is if a CBD product is full spectrum, broad spectrum, or isolate.
SB 57 requires licenses for growing or processing hemp are valid for three years and are not available to anyone convicted of drug-related charges in the past 10 years. No license is required to sell or purchase CBD in Ohio.