Here’s what you need to know about hemp-derived CBD oil in Vermont.
Eligible patients can join Vermont’s medical marijuana program. If you qualify for the program, you can possess up to two ounces of marijuana, but you’re not allowed to grow more plants than recreational users.
Although Vermont has legalized both plants, different regulations apply to CBD oil depending on where it comes from
Guide to Buying CBD Oil in Vermont
However, if you cross the legal possession limits, you can still be charged with a fine and jail time. The first violation is punishable with 6 months in jail and a $500 fine. Next offenses can extend the sentence to 2 years and make you poorer by $2000.
This means that you can easily find hemp CBD oil over the counter in Vermont’s dispensaries, pharmacies, vape shops, and organic food stores. You don’t need a prescription to buy hemp-derived supplements.
Some people just need to see the product for themselves, touch it, and talk with the staff about their CBD goals. If that’s how you prefer to shop for CBD oil in Vermont, below we highlight the best stores in the state. See if you can find your city on this list:
Marijuana is high in THC, so CBD oils produced from this type of cannabis can induce intoxication. In other words, you can get high off of marijuana-derived CBD oil.
We organically farm 100% of our hemp, and we make our CBD oil on-site.
Get started with a free, 14-day trial. Cancel anytime.
The difference is real.
Most companies use ethanol or CO2 to separate the CBD from hemp.
We infuse hemp into coconut oil by heating and pressing it. Our CBD oil is minimally processed, which is why it has an earthy color, smell and taste.
We pride ourselves on our ingredients and our process – so we let them shine through. Many Sunsoil products contain just two organic ingredients: hemp and coconut oil.
Vermont has not prohibited the use of CBD as an additive to foods or beverages. CBD in food or drinks intended for immediate consumption, is, however, subject to Vermont meals tax.
While there are no specified possession limits for CBD derived from cannabis, there is a tiered system of penalties for those found in possession of more than one ounce of cannabis.
Hemp-derived CBD can also be purchased online, usually through specific brands’ websites. You can also find verified CBD brands on Weedmaps. Reputable brands will generally provide you with essential product details, including the form of the CBD (such as oil, capsules, topicals, tinctures, etc.), the quantity of CBD the product contains, the other chemicals or ingredients present in the product, and more.
All types of cannabis, including hemp strains that don’t produce enough THC to cause intoxication, were considered illegal under the Federal Controlled Substances Act of 1970. The law categorized all cannabis as Schedule 1, which defined the plant as a highly addictive substance with a high potential for abuse and no accepted medical use.
Currently, there are no possession limits in the state of Vermont for hemp-derived CBD.