Posted on

is cbd hemp oil legal in florida

Charlotte’s Web is low in THC and therefore doesn’t get the user high.

Accepted medical marijuana conditions include one or more of the following:

To apply for a medical marijuana certificate in Florida, you need to get a certification from a licensed doctor recommending marijuana as a treatment for your condition. There is a $75 fee for applying.

Recommended CBD Retailers in Florida

Remember to do your research on your CBD oil products before committing to a purchase. If you don’t see your city on our list, check out a reliable online store for your CBD needs.

Purchasing CBD oil online is by far the most convenient way to find reliable products in Florida.

Currently, possession for under 20 grams of marijuana can land you in prison for 1 year with a fine. Anything over 20 grams can get you up to 5 years in the clink. Your driver’s license may also get suspended even if your crime was unrelated to driving.

Under Florida law, you may only buy CBD oil with a THC content higher than 0.3% from a licensed dispensary. Also, you must have a valid medical marijuana card from a licensed physician.

The Florida governor later signed a new bill in 2019 that enabled industrial hemp’s growth. Although it was a huge victory for farmers, the law featured a limitation. It primarily limited the THC level a CBD product could have to about 0.3%. Therefore, as a general rule, provided the THC level remains below 0.3%, you can legally buy, trade, and sell CBD. When it comes to purchasing CBD, this could happen in a few ways. Generally speaking, the state has been very kind with online stores that sell CBD.

The legal status of CBD in Florida has been a subject of debate for a while after Donald J. Trump signed the U.S. Farm Bill into law back in 2018. The law was clear on the freedom when it comes to selling industrial hemp. However, the isolation of cannabis blows hot and cold in the mind of every Floridian. It became a heated debate when a particular North Carolina woman got arrested in Florida for possessing a bottle of CBD oil. That occurred back in 2019.

Is CBD Legal in Florida? FDA Regulations on CBD Labeling

The state hasn’t set any limits regarding how much CBD one person can hold at any given time. Medical marijuana patients with a prescription can buy and have up to four ounces of cannabis from state-licensed dispensaries.

In July 2019, some essential changes happened to the already approved CBD laws with the introduction of introducing SB 1020. It defined legal hemp as hemp consisting of less than 0.3% THC by weight, the actual federal standard for hemp. It would otherwise be considered illegal. What’s more, the CBD laws in Florida now allowed hemp extraction, describing CBD oil products as the substance obtained from legal hemp plants. The most important part is that it’s legalized CBD and stated that hemp-derived cannabinoids aren’t controlled substances.

This article will examine the laws surrounding marijuana in this state of Florida.