The Arkansas State Plant Board (ASPB) formed a few months following the 2018 Farm Bill’s passing. Under the Department of Agriculture, this group has been responsible for leading the state’s hemp program since 2018. As a general rule, the ASPB requires all hemp producers to have a license to grow, sell, and process raw hemp and its byproducts. Below are a few laws to consider:
Apart from the licensing fee, the department requests applicants to pay program fees before issuing licenses. When it comes to approved growers, they often send an invoice for their applied acreage charging $100 for each greenhouse and a $100 GPS verification fee for every location ID.
Arkansas Medical Marijuana Amendment
Together with earlier regulations, this legislation essentially made hemp CBD legal. Ultimately, this made the state very open to CBD production. As a result, cannabidiol products in Arkansas are readily available both in online shops and physical stores.
For approved processors, they send an invoice for their applied processor fee and a $100 GPS verification fee for every approved location ID. Therefore, each applicant requires going through the program requirements and the Arkansas Industrial Hemp Act before applying for a license.
This House Bill 1778 led to the formation of the Arkansas Industrial Hemp Act and the start of a research program. The law was written by David Hillman, a Representative, to encourage studies on the various economic advantages of industrial hemp production in Arkansas. In April 2017, the bill passed and became a law. Hillman essentially based the law on the hemp research program of the state of Kentucky.
As with federal law, the bulk of Arkansas’s CBD laws center around whether CBD is derived from industrial hemp, which contains less than 0.3% THC. Since 2018, the Arkansas State Plant Board (ASPB), which is part of the state’s Department of Agriculture, has been managing all activities related to hemp in the state. As such, it is a key player in establishing the state’s rules regarding CBD.
In 2019, Arkansas passed new legislation that removes products derived from hemp plants from the state’s list of controlled substances. This, in combination with earlier rules related to CBD products, essentially legalized hemp-derived CBD and made Arkansas’s rules much more open. As a result, CBD and CBD products are now widely available both online and in stores throughout the state.
Why is CBD sometimes illegal?
On these sites, you should be able to verify crucial product details such as what form the CBD is in (e.g., oil, capsules, topicals, tinctures, etc.), how much CBD the product contains, and what other chemicals or ingredients are in the product. The best way to ensure that you’re receiving a high quality product is to look for brands that provide a certificate of analysis from a third-party testing lab. After making your purchase, expect shipping to take anywhere from 3-5 business days to as long as 2 weeks.
The 2018 Farm Bill legalized industrial hemp cultivation hemp-derived products, creating a pathway to remove some cannabis from Schedule 1 status by differentiating between hemp and marijuana. Under this law, hemp is cannabis that contains less than 0.3% THC by weight, and marijuana is cannabis that contains more than 0.3% THC.
This provision allows for the legal sale, possession, and consumption of CBD in Arkansas — as long as both the hemp plant and resulting CBD product contains less than 0.3% THC. The ASPB also requires people who want to grow hemp plants or produce CBD products to be licensed by the state. As of June 2019, the state had approved 80 hemp farmers to grow hemp plants. These farmers operate across at least 42 counties and currently occupy nearly 2,000 acres, or 809 hectares, of cropland.