Posted on

is cbd oil legal in south carolina

The South USA has been slow to move towards legalizing cannabis, and SC is no exception to that rule. This conservative state has restricted the use and selling of these. Marijuana for medical and recreational purposes is illegal in SC. Possession of this is a criminal offense. First-time offenders can face up to 30 days in jail and a maximum of $565 fine for possession of it.

Hemp-derived CBD can now be sold at stores throughout the place. SC hasn’t specified limits on how much CBD you are allowed to buy, consume, or possess. Hence, hemp-derived CBD is somewhat unregulated in this state.

Is CBD Oil Legal in South Carolina?

This also means that cannabis-derived cannabidiol products are considered illegal in the state.

Like other states in the USA, Cannabidiol stores are popping in many towns and cities inSC. Is it illegal? If yes. What are the limitations? Where can you buy Cannabidiol in SC?

But still, it is illegal to have marijuana for recreational purposes with or without a medical marijuana ID card. Possessing and selling an illegal Cannabidiol such as marijuana has offense penalties that go up to 10 years in prison and up to 10,000USD fine. It is important to note that marijuana is illegal in SC whether it is for medical and recreational purposes.

South Carolina residents can find plenty of brick-and-mortar stores that sell premium-quality CBD products. But if you don’t live near any of the stores we mention in the article, you can always buy CBD oil online and have it delivered right to your doorstep.

Second, those buying CBD oil in bulk can count on special wholesale deals that offer large quantities of CBD goods at attractive prices.

BUYING CBD OIL ONLINE IN SOUTH CAROLINA

Despite its recreational appeal, CBD is mostly associated with numerous health benefits – from reduced anxiety and inflammation to alleviated pain and potential cancer prevention capabilities.

It’s no wonder that CBD has grabbed the wellness industry by the throat. It allows you to experience the majority of benefits from cannabis but without getting high.

South Carolina is joining Tennessee and other more forward-thinking Southern states to bring greater access to hemp CBD oil in the region.

In South Carolina, two pieces of legislation make up the current legal framework for the regulation of all CBD products. First, 2014’s Senate Bill 1035, titled ‘Julian’s Law,’ made it legal for consumers to gain access to medical cannabis, including medical-grade high THC CBD products. This law comes with a few notable restrictions. For one thing, the law stipulates that only those citizens with debilitating conditions whose physicians have outlined the necessity of marijuana to their long-term treatment plan can access medical CBD. Additionally, the medical-grade CBD can only be obtained from licensed dispensaries in South Carolina.

The age requirement for CBD in South Carolina depends on the law used to protect the purchase and consumption. Under the state’s medical cannabis law, minors can be prescribed medical CBD if their doctor gains written consent from the child’s parent or guardian. Otherwise, CBD is reserved in the medical sense only for those patients above the age of eighteen.

South Carolina CBD Laws

CBD laws in South Carolina are relatively simple, but the violation of the state’s cannabis and hemp laws can leave consumers in serious criminal or civil trouble. As a result, it is more important than ever that CBD users conduct substantial research before making any purchase within the state. In particular, concerns regarding exact laws, age requirements, and online regulations are all important considerations for any user to keep in mind before buying their favorite CBD or marijuana products in South Carolina.

The state is still attempting to reconcile their laws and enforcement mechanisms with federally-understood norms. This is not particularly surprising to those who have observed the legal progress of all fifty states following the passage of the federal Farm Bill in 2014. This law purportedly made it legal for consumers to possess and for companies to distribute hemp-derived CBD products in all fifty states. Like many states, South Carolina’s police forces have worked hard to ensure that THC contents of CBD products do not exceed legal limits set by their own laws or the federal Farm Bill.

The industrial hemp pilot program for South Carolina became state law in 2016 through revisions to statutory code from 46-55-10 to 46-55-40. This law made it possible for consumers in the state to purchase CBD from companies so long as it is derived from the industrial hemp plant and contains a negligible amount of THC. If the THC content by dry weight exceeds this limit set by legislators, then it is not legal under this law.